Archinect
anchor

Toronto Architecture Job Scene

AnoukDaria

Hello everyone, I'm new here. I have just finished grad school this past June and I am looking for an entry level position at a Toronto architecture firm.

I have been searching for work this whole summer but I am having a difficult time finding openings. I frequently check the OAA employment page and have applied to many of the jobs listed on there, however they all seemed to require much more experience then I could offer.

I have limited intern experience, just about 1 year, not even. Could anyone who is working in Toronto, or looking for work in Toronto tell me what the architecture job scene is like right now in the city?

Is the situation bad, such as too many new graduates but too little work to go around, or is my work just not good enough yet? I will be working on improving my portfolio for September as there may be more hiring going on then.

I have gone through all the other Toronto job threads and am familiar with the firms named. I have sent out applications to those, but have not gotten any responses. If anyone could let me know what the job situation is like, I would appreciate it greatly as it would help me get a better idea of what I am facing.

Thanks in advance!

Anouk

Aug 11, 10 8:50 pm
Elisabeth

My impression is that recent grad.s have a hard time in Toronto- and Canada generally. Didn't the OAA survey show the average age of an intern to be something ridiculous like 35 or more? In Ontario its a slow moving, not terribly healthy field.
Find out what your contemporaries are doing to get work, my impression is that many firms in Toronto would be happier to take a community college tech. grad., than an architect, that's just how they are - and it shows! Maybe try edges Missisauga or further.

Aug 15, 10 7:02 pm  · 
 · 
Voltaire