Archinect
anchor

Graduate School or Full Time Work?

ajuneja

Hi everyone,

It is my first time posting here, and I'm thankful to find a community of architects to ask for advice on my career step!

I recently graduated with a B.S. Architecture degree from Kent, Ohio. I currently live in PA, and I have been offered a full time detailing position at SBC Building Systems in Ambridge, PA. I have also been accepted in the Graduate M.Arch program at Kent, Ohio, and I'm a little confused when deciding between the two options.

I am currently without a car, and I don't have very much money to support myself outside of school. I have been accepted into the M.Arch program at Kent, but I have not received any financial aide except for private loans.

My salary at SBC Building Systems will be $13/hour for full time and benefits, but I will not be able to return to Kent for Grad school, and I will have to re-apply to another school once I can save up the money to return to school for my M.Arch.

My student loans will total around $50,000 if I graduate with my M.Arch. I'm struggling to make ends meet, but I do have about 1 year of internship experience from my undergrad. However, most of my internships have been unpaid or part-time in the past, and I am thankful for my first full-time offer!

Do you think it will be possible to repay my student loans and support myself if I decide to go to graduate school? Are most architectural internships after M.Arch full-time positions with benefits? What is an average salary for an M.Arch graduate?

Thank you in advance for your time and advice!

Yours Sincerely,

Apoorva Juneja

May 21, 14 1:46 pm
gruen

go to google. google "loan repayment calculator". figure out how much you have to pay every month to pay back a $50,000 loan in 10 years. 

then, figure you will make maybe a bit more than $13/hr once you have your masters. Maybe $20.