Asymptote Architecture

Asymptote Architecture

New York, NY


​Yas Marina Hotel

The Yas Island Marina Hotel is an award-winning iconic luxury 500-room hotel situated above Abu Dhabi's Formula One Grand Prix race circuit. The architecture consists of two ten-story high, 300-meter long elliptical buildings united by an extraordinary glass and steel gridshell structure. While the west wing of the hotel is land-based, the east side situtaed in the waterway of the Yas Yacht Marina.  Between the two buildings, a  free-span fuselage-like steel bridge extends above the race track. The gridshell that spans the entire complex affords the Yas Hotel; it's distinctive silhouette and globally recognized iconic image. The gridshell also serves as an environmentally responsive shading structure for the Hotel, creating constant cooling airflows that traverse the all the vertical surfaces utilizing stack effect. The gridshell is an engineering feat accomplished with the assistance of Schlaich Bergemann ( Stuttgart ), Gehry Technologies ( Los Angeles ), and Wagner Buro ( Vienna ). This highly complex three-dimensional tesselated double curved structure is comprised of 5,600 unique diamond-shaped glass panels also serves to respond and play against the ever-changing sky by day while emitting remarkable light effects into the night. The architecture of the Yas Marina Hotel, an eloquent merging of a world-class Marina and Formula 1 race track with a five-star hotel, stands today as a powerful and expressive contemporary symbol for Abu Dhabi's aspirations for the present and future.

Read more

Status: Built
Location: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Firm Role: Architect
Additional Credits: Architect: Asymptote Architecture

Design Principals: Hani Rashid, Lise Anne Couture

Project Directors: Mick McConnell, Andrew Drummond
Project Managers: Theo Sarantoglou Lalis, Constantin Doehler, Matthew Utley, David Lessard, Kurt Hanzlik

Design Team: Klaus Ransmayr, Greg Derrico, Danny Abalos, Theo Sarantoglou Lalis, Keehyun Ahn, Sebastian Andia, Armand Graham, David Lessard, Sophie Luger

Bernardo Crespo, Reed Finlay, William Garcia, Moritz Greiling, Justine Groves, John Guida, Kurt Hanzlik, Robert Hendrick, Tyson Hosmer, Robert Ivanov, Jeremiah Joseph, Feby Kuriakose, Brooks McDaniel, Jonathan Podborsek, Ben Ritter, Greg Spaw, Ariane Stracke, Linda Stromgren, Kyle Stover, Tae-Hyung Park, Martin Zangerl, Christoph Ziegler

Manca Ahlin, Phuttipan Askawool, Ali Baker, Christoph Boeckeler, Julie Bogdanowicz, Remi Chevrillon, Cluadia Friesz, Hiroe Fujimoto, Daniel Angulo Garcia, Daniel Gillen, Avital Gourary, Richard Heger, Katharina Hieger, Julia Hoins, Ji Young Kim, Siyoung Kim, Jonathan Kleinhample, Adam Koogler, Rolando Lineros, Brendan Maloney, Mirai Morita, Tom Raymont, Friedrich Rohde, Sander Schuur, Greg Spaw, Jeff Walker, Robert Wehinger, Michael Whalen, Ann Wright, Margaret Yoo

Commercial Director: Chris Delusky

Local Architects: Dewan Architects & Engineers/ Tilke & Partners Abu Dhabi

Structural Engineers: Dewan Architects & Engineers/Arup Abu Dhabi

Façade Consultants: Front Inc., Taw & partner New York

Gridshell Engineers: Schlaich Bergermann und Partner,Stuttgart,
Waagner-Biro Vienna Gridshell

BIM Consultant: Gehry Technologies Los Angeles

Gridshell Lighting Consultant: Arup Lighting New York , Netherlands