Archinect
anchor

Am I being underpaid as an Associate Architect with a professional B. Arch degree?

firestreakz

This is more of a venting of frustration post then anything else. Therefore, be warned. Feel free to discuss your issues with salary, employment or job conditions. Or just drop a reply about what you think.

I am an Associate Architect working at an architecture and construction firm somewhere in South East Asia (in a developing country I am not going to mention which one). I have been working at the same firm for about two and a half years. My starting salary was US$206 per month and no we are not paid in US$. Believe it or not this is the average starting salary here.

Anyway after about 2.5 yrs later my salary has been raised to only US$258 per month. Its pathetic. As a student I thought that a B. Arch was like nothing else, it would lead to a high paying job or professionalism that is unmatched in any other career. The reality is it doesn't work like that here. The highest paid jobs here are managers in banking and telecoms sector. Office hours are 8 hours per day but you don't get paid for overtime and overtimes are almost regular. The company only pays good salaries to a select few namely an accountant and a site engineer on whom a lot of the management depends on directly.

Not to mention a colleague of mine, he is also an associate architect who just got an MS in Sustainable Design from UK. His salary after rejoining was US$357. Its not good either, but unfortunately the guy doesn't even know how to draw cad drawings properly and doesn't even show a hint of sustainable design influence in his designs. He struggles with a computer can't work in 3d and what not.