Archinect
anchor

Knowing when to move on/ not getting greedy

archanonymous

I am hoping to get some perspective on my situation from some older and wiser archinecters. Others may find this useful also, as I think it is a position more and more aspiring architects are finding themselves in. 

I am a young designer, graduated from a good school with a professional M.Arch in 2010 and (like most) scrapped around trying to pull together enough jobs to eat after graduation. I have now been with a design-build studio for 28 months where I am treated well (paid overtime, vacation time, $50k/year, Fridays off, am the "lead" designer in the office, and can get reimbursed for travel and education expenses a couple times a year.) However we do not do Architecture per se - sometimes we will design and build architectural elements, but it is mostly installation pieces, facade elements, sculpture, etc...  

I can't help but feel like I am missing the train to licensure and long-term success. Sure, the pay is nice right now, and I won't get anything close when switching to a mainstream Architecture job, but am I putting myself in an untenable position for when the economy does bounce back strongly? Or in 5 years when (if I stay here) my peers are making 50-100% more than me?

I love designing and building, but ultimately I want to be creating spaces and experiences, not just structures or facade elements or details. Am I getting greedy? Is it too soon (in the economic recovery) to be leaving a cushy job in search of new challenges and a path to licensure? Do you older members here ever feel like you are missing out on some aspects of design by staying in your current job?

Apr 4, 14 1:52 pm
x-jla