Archinect
anchor

2010 M.Arch applicants, commiserate here!

zzzzzzzzzzz

I haven't used Lulu yet, but I plan to print a test portfolio in the next week or so. I'll let you know how it turns out.

Oct 25, 09 7:31 pm  · 
 · 
Cranky Pantz

jk3hl: True that !
middleAmerica: I'm looking forward to hearing how the print turns out!

Oct 25, 09 7:48 pm  · 
 · 
Living in Gin

I'll be using Blurb, since they seem to give you the most creative control as well as the best prices. I've also read that Lulu can sometimes have quality control issues.

I've never used either service before, so I plan to order one copy of my portfolio as a test print, and if I like what they send back to me, I'll order the rest.

In other news, I've got my recommenders lined up, my GRE scores ordered, most of the online applications filled out, and most of my transcripts ordered. The big push over the next couple months will be the remaining 2-3 pages of my portfolio that I still need to put together, as well as my statement of intent.

Oct 25, 09 8:46 pm  · 
 · 
ess

i have a friend that has used blurb (although for an entirely different purpose) and liked the outcome. i have my test print from lulu (one of what will be many, but i'll get to that) right in front of me. there are things i like, things i don't, and many other surprises (aspects i love and never expected to, and vice versa). the downside of using an online printer (there are many if you begin looking for them) is that you absolutely cannot expect to send in your stuff, get it back, and...voila! your book is perfect and complete. it's a back and forth process and i think that to take advantage of an online printer's lower cost, you really have to have your ducks in a row (leaving enough time for several test print rounds). if you're a procrastinator type, i'd start talking to local printers and find out what they can do for you when it gets near that eleventh hour.

just my opinion...and now, back to work!

Oct 25, 09 8:53 pm  · 
 ·