Archinect
anchor

2010 M.Arch applicants, commiserate here!

alexstitt

totally agree, thats why I'll most likely apply. My fear is I have too many of those reach schools on my list.

May 26, 09 1:28 pm  · 
 · 
BlondAm09

Annagraph - we have pretty similar situations. I've been a graphic designer for 5 years but don't have as much of my own art to include. Hope the summer program and some drawing I've been doing recently will help round that out. My plan is to only include one or two of my very best G.D. projects.

Also saw you were thinking of ASU. Do you know much about their program? I've seen it asked about a couple of times on the thread (including from myself) but no one has replied... is that a bad sign?

May 26, 09 2:16 pm  · 
 · 
Annagraph

Why would you want to limit your graphic design projects to 1 or 2? Sounds like you've been doing it for a while. If it's good stuff, you should include it right?

May 26, 09 3:19 pm  · 
 · 
BlondAm09

Well, a lot of my work is pretty commercial. I think out of context it might not be impressive. Maybe one or two pieces was a low estimate. I guess if you have awesome stuff, you should include!

May 26, 09 3:36 pm  · 
 · 
kungapa

njohn - regarding the Yale program and urbanism, I believe you are a little bit off.

In my research of the programs, Yale actually seems to have a strong connection to urbanism. The fact that there is not a dedicated urban design program does not mean that the school does not address urban issues - instead all the urbanists coming to the school teach in the M Arch program. One of the semesters in the core curriculum is entirely dedicated to the urban scale, and there are usually advanced studio options addressing the same issues.