Archinect
anchor

Working in NYC vs SF

nsamat

Hello everyone, i wonder what is your opinion which place is better to go doing architecture NYC or SF? I would like some info in terms of design culture, people and generally living conditions,cost, etc. I am a senior architect from Europe. I am about to apply for a fellowship which would allow me to work at a hosting architecture firm for one year. It seems that i could find hosting firms in both cities. The company is more or less the same (big international company), and award would not change a lot neither depending on location. So what is your opinion? Thank you very much in advance for any help!

Oct 5, 13 1:22 pm

Where are you coming from?

Oct 5, 13 3:19 pm  · 
 · 
nsamat

Hungary

Oct 16, 13 12:21 pm  · 
 · 
sameolddoctor

From my personal viewpoint, I would say that NY is much better to gain exposure into different kinds of projects, different kinds of people, and has a greater critical mass of architects and designers. But then again, SF would probably offer a better quality of life as it is somehow more "livable". Sure there are lots of architects and designers in SF too, but youd probably bump into more software start up folks up there. If the office is the same, then I would examine which place is more livable....(sorry I seem biased towards SF, because I love the city....)

Oct 17, 13 2:26 am  · 
 · 

As someone from the Bay Area who has lived in both NYC and SF, gut instinct says NYC. 

Having said that, if you have family or prefer more spread out life, SF might be a better option. Strictly speaking Architecture, NYC will give you more exposure. The Architecture scene out here is lopsided with mostly single family homes and corporate office buildings for silicon valley's high tech. 

Don't get me wrong, I love where I live now (30 minutes south of SF), but the concrete jungle of NYC is usually full of more to see and do than being out in the not-so-wild west Architecturally speaking.