Archinect
anchor

Los Angeles Design practices

kristofferson

Hello,

I was interested to hear everyone's favorite design studios in Los Angeles as I'm currently looking to relocate there. Especially interested in innovative practices doing installations, lighting, set design, and sculptures.

Thanks for your help!

Jul 7, 13 8:18 am
dm_v

Ball and Nogues

Jul 7, 13 7:32 pm  · 
 · 
Veuxx

Belzberg Architects

Jul 8, 13 11:34 am  · 
 · 
Veuxx

Clive Wilkinson

Jul 8, 13 11:34 am  · 
 · 
kristofferson

Thanks for your help everyone! I'm also interested in studios who do mostly work for the entertainment industry as this is huge in LA- films/TV, events, live gigs, etc. Who does all the lighting/installation work for these niches? Any good resources to check out? (blogs, websites, directories, etc)

Thanks

Jul 11, 13 6:55 am  · 
 · 
andyc089

Most of the studios are in Burbank,Glendale, Hollywood, Universal City, Culver City. I studied architecture, and interned in the entertainment/architecture industry for both a large and small studio.  You probably won't be able to find the small studios doing the installations, live gigs because many of them sign non-disclosure agreements on their contracts. Even though aren't supposed to, the small studios, will try to sneak client names on their website to pull in similar clients . Anyways, this is my two cents about the industry, based on what I've experienced.

I think you'll have to decide if you want to crossover into entertainment or stick to architecture. The two are very different because entertainment is mostly art, illustration, theater, imagery, imagination, and most importantly, engaging/exciting guests. Architecture is more about making things safe, functional, feasible construction methods, coordinating different disciplines, meeting the building code, project management, some facilities design, and CAD documentation.