Archinect
anchor

Liability Waiver?

Mc Taco

So I am a wrapping up a set of construction documents for a contractor. He had a set of plans laying around and he wanted me to convert it into a CD set to submit for the city. It's nothing amazing, just a bread and butter 3k residence. Something to learn from plus some extra change would be nice. I know architects have liability insurance to cover their butts in case something goes wrong. Now I'm a starving student with loans coming out of my eyeballs and the last thing I need is someone suing me. I'm just doing this for a few bucks on the side. Should I write up a waiver that I am not held responsible in case of anything? Or is it not even necessary?

Jun 1, 08 2:54 am
el jeffe

"Design Intent Only Not for Construction"

how does any building department issue a permit with that on the drawings????

Jun 1, 08 2:23 pm  · 
 · 
Mc Taco

Well I am scared they might sue me for my family assets which are under my name by law. This is something I don’t want to put me or my family at risk for.

No the house is about 3k sq. ft. and I am only charging $500 for the completed set. I am just taking a hand drawn architectural set and making a pretty CD set in Revit.

Usually in the upper right hand corner of the title block firms put their logo / address / phone #s. I made my own logo with ‘my last name’ Architecture” and my home address & phone number. Don’t know if I should put a phony baloney address and just change ‘architecture’ to ‘design services’.

As for “Design Intent Only Not for Construction”… I am not sure how the contractor or the city would feel about that. It’s like trying to submit to the city with a nice fat red N.F.C. water stamp.

Jun 1, 08 2:44 pm  · 
 · 
archie