Archinect
anchor

Polystyrene insulation beneath weight-bearing slab?

phased

Hi guys,

Being in Australia, I have had limited cold-climate design experience (think insulated slabs, in-floor heating, etc.).

Anyway, I'm drafting up a section of an existing pavilion in Amsterdam from the fragments in a detail magazine. One element that they have largely neglected is the slab/walls that enclose the sub-terrain basement.

From the 1:200 snapshot, it appears that the the 15mm fibre-cement board & 100mm extruded polystyrene insulation (on the outside of the 250mm explosed concrete plinth wall) continue to the underside of the slab. Perhaps not the fibre-cement board, but the insulation certainly appears to do so.

The slab also appears to be weight-bearing, as there are no associated raft edges or footings. My question is, how can there be polysterene insulation on the underside of a weight-bearing slab? Would this not greatly sacrifice the structural integrity of the slab/building over a period of time?

I'm just about to detail this building the building with the insulation above the slab (beneath the panel flooring, inbetween the joists/bearers), unless someone can shed some light on the issue!

I will try to scan a few pics up.

Many thanks.

Mar 30, 08 12:54 pm
phased

asdf

Mar 30, 08 12:55 pm  · 
 · 
phased

Here is the broad 1:200 overview:

And here you can just see the top of the basement walls/slab:

Thanks for any help!

Mar 30, 08 1:00 pm  · 
 · 
won and done williams