Archinect
anchor

corporate campuses - the good, the bad & the ugly

treekiller

Looking for precedents of corporate campuses. All that come to mind are bad ugly spec corporate sprawl next to a highway interchange. So what companies have good architecture, good planning, and good landscape?

Adaptive reuse, urban infill, and sustainable design is a plus.

(I'm studying a 40 suburban acre site that's being redeveloped by a midsized manufacturing company - hope we don't need to chop down too many trees in the process. I've already looked into how many kWs of PV panels will fit on the roof...)

Apr 6, 07 2:56 pm
silverlake

A great corporate campus is Eero Saarinen's GM Technical Center in Warren, Michigan.

Apr 6, 07 3:18 pm  · 
 · 
Chili Davis

I agree. Tech Center is amazing. Tough to get in some of the buildings though.

Apr 6, 07 3:23 pm  · 
 · 
KEG

You should look at the Boeing "move to the lake" project in WA. I studied it for my thesis (particularly their attempt to put the designers and the makers under the same roof). I was most impressed with their signage (environmental design), but I know they have been praised for the site planning/ environment.
http://www.memagazine.org/backissues/membersonly/nov05/features/ashort/ashort.html

Also, maybe look at Allergan in Irvine, CA...I know people that work there who think it's a successful campus (in the middle of a plastic-planed community). I'm not sure because I haven't been inside the fortress.

Apr 6, 07 3:27 pm  · 
 · 
KEG

also, does the Salk Institute qualify as a campus? I would assume...

Apr 6, 07 3:28 pm  · 
 · 
treekiller

great places, the salk and saarinen rock my world!

Apr 6, 07 4:05 pm  · 
 · 
strlt_typ

may not qualify as corporate but a campus

The California Endowment by rios, clementi, hale in l.a. (on alameda blvd.)

Apr 6, 07 4:13 pm  · 
 · 
KEG

ahhh...I love rch...