Archinect
anchor

The Cost of Construction

ColorBlindArchitect

Hello everyone!

I'm putting together a business plan for an entrepreneur competition at Louisiana Tech University, where I am a graduate student. 

I need some information about the fees that architects, contractors, sub-contractors, brokers, etc. are paid during the process of planning, designing, and constructing residential building types. Where exactly does all of that money go? For example, how much of a 10% fee goes to things like keeping the lights on and paying employees, and what goes back into the firm/company as profit or reinvestment? What does that fee breakdown look like for all participants?

I ask this because my business plan rethinks the entirety of the process and, therefor, how all of the money moves. The goal is to rid the of the "Do a job and get paid" model and replace it with the more financially stable "We're building assets" model. I know that's kind of vague, but I would rather not bore you with all the details, or give away all my secrets (unless we're both sharing, of course!) 

If anyone has any information they would rather share privately, please feel free to contact me directly. I have a Mutual NDA if that's necessary.

Jun 25, 17 7:10 pm
architeckton

Are you looking strictly at the architecture fee? And if so, how much of that goes into direct salary expense, overhead (benefits, rent, utilities, software, hardware, etc.), and profit?

Or are you looking more generally at how does a savvy architecture firm capitalize on their profits?

Mar 27, 18 11:41 am  · 
 · 
3tk

I think much of that depends on the firm size and age.  Insurance can be a high portion of it (for architects and contractors) and multipliers can vary geographically (rent can shift considerably, and some firms own their own real estate).