Archinect
anchor

Is being good at trig a must?

HannahGG

I am currently a high school student very interested in studying architecture in college. I attempted to take trig but ended up dropping out of it to take pre calc instead. I have very little understanding of trig and was wondering if that could hurt my chances of being successful in college and in my career as an architect.

Mar 28, 17 11:35 am

3 Featured Comments

All 29 Comments

chigurh

never used trigonometry once.

Mar 28, 17 12:02 pm  · 
 · 
Continuum

From my experience, pre-calculus involves a little bit of trigonometry. It is not so useful for design studios, but it can be useful for some required structural systems and building technology electives. Most of the calculations for these intro courses are for right angles anyway so the basics should be enough.

Mar 28, 17 12:11 pm  · 
 · 
Wilma Buttfit

You don't have to be great at it but you do have to take the class. I am an architect and have also tutored in trig and pre-calc too. Math teachers make it harder than it should be, believe me. Unit circle - let me tell you, this is a very cool thing and everything is based on that. 

Mar 28, 17 12:51 pm  · 
 · 
MyDream

Yes you have to take trig, I just passed trig a few semesters ago and I am in pre-calculus. I know this sounds crazy but pre calculus is easier than trig to me, then again I studied the Sh*t out of calculus before I actually took it. You are going to have to take physics and I think there is some more. For engineering I got a crap load of calculus courses. 

Mar 28, 17 3:26 pm  · 
 · 
citizen

I remember using trig on several occasions in practice, now that you mention it.  Not common, but it happens.  Take the class, pass it, get it over with.  Good luck!

Mar 28, 17 3:51 pm  · 
 · 
Featured Comment
BulgarBlogger