Archinect
anchor

How can i learn specifications writing?

Non-ASD Jequitarchitectur

I am still a student but I wish to learn how to write specifications in order to make myself more employable. I understand that a specifications author should be well versed in construction. However, is this something one can learn from a book/guide or is it only possible to learn by working in practice?

Dec 25, 16 3:34 pm
wurdan freo

Memorize a spec book.

Dec 25, 16 4:11 pm  · 
1  · 
Find your local CSI chapter and get involved. Keep in mind there are a lot of places that don't have a dedicated spec writer, and usually Project Architects write the spec based on a master. On the flip side, there's a market for spec writers. A lot of it does come with just being in an office and going through design, CDs, and CA.
Dec 25, 16 5:26 pm  · 
1  · 

Unfortunately, there probably isn't much you can do in school to learn how to write specs, at least not that any employer will trust you with. However, you can do some things that will get you started so you can pick up on it faster when you get out into the profession.

Start by understanding project delivery methods better. The best way I can advocate for doing this is to study for and pass the Construction Documents Technologist (CDT) exam CSI offers (do this while taking a pro practice course and you should see some tie-in with the content). This will help make you better with anything construction documents, not just specifications. This is something that employers should see immediate value in, and should be able to trust that value more than just someone saying they took a class on spec writing. Also, the majority of the content you cover with the CDT will be tested again on the ARE, so you'll just be giving yourself a head start on that. 

Aside from that, Josh makes a good suggestion to get involved with CSI. Many CSI events are either free or discounted for student members.