Archinect
anchor

Mental health and corporate practice: Better to fly solo?

jack3beaks

I'm a registered architect with a few years experience, working as a project architect at a corporate firm in a medium-sized city. I like the firm I work for and the people I work with, but the projects aren't particularly inspiring. Most of my clients are developers, and I find that their values tend to be sharply at odds with my own. My previous experience involved more public sector, nonprofit, and higher ed clients who I found much easier to relate to and work for.

Also, I'm coming around to the idea that I'm just cut out for a corporate practice environment. I'm very much an introvert and tend to be pretty quiet. The open office atmosphere and constant pressure to interact with people is very distracting and physically draining for me. I also have a couple of chronic health issues (depression and mild Asperger's) that sometimes prevents me from performing at 100% or being particularly social. I've been fired from jobs in the past because of this, despite my strengths in other areas, and my bosses at my current gig have already warned me about my productivity when I had a bit of a mental health lapse earlier in the summer. I haven't told them about my condition yet; while they seem generally open-minded, my prior experience indicates there's still a strong stigma surrounding mental health issues and I don't want to make it seem like I'm making excuses. Even in the most "progressive" workplaces there seems to be a lot of pressure to be a certain Type-A personality type that just isn't me.