Archinect
anchor

townhouse roof Framing question

I'm doing some new townhouses and this is the detail I've used in the northeast before.  I'm new to the southwest California, so I'm modifying my townhouse roof detail for the new location.  I'm also going to be more involved in the construction, so I have a few questions.

I don't remember how this detail was implemented by the framers in the northeast, but I don't know how you would set the heights of the roof joists so that you get a 1/4" slope for a single ply like TPO.  The roof joists are bearing on the party walls of the townhouses, and that header probably wants to be flat.

It seems like it would be easier to build it flat, and then somehow overbuild / cricket the slope.  I need to look into it more insulation wise, but I'm not sure I need the foam.  Either way, why not add a third piece of plywood to the detail that is shimmed above each joist to the proper height for the slope?

Not sure what's the best technique here, your input would be appreciated.  Any other suggestions on insulation in this forgiving climate, or a good and cost effective walkable roofing product would also be welcome.

Aug 18, 16 9:14 pm
awaiting_deletion

is the question - why slope the entire roof instead of building a flat roof with another structure on it that is sloped?

Aug 18, 16 10:25 pm  · 
 · 
BulgarBlogger

I don't get it.. why not just taper the insulation?

Aug 18, 16 10:30 pm  · 
 · 

@ Olaf: sort of.  I wouldn't say "another structure", but more of a shimmed layer of plywood / cricket.

@Bulgar: It's my understanding that tapered insulation is expensive and difficult to coordinate, so I don't want to go that route.  Also, it's more difficult to replace/repair down the road and could crush.

Aug 18, 16 10:38 pm  · 
 · 
awaiting_deletion

Tyler, you just answered your questions I believe.

Tapering is tough/costly, but if the entire roof slopes - Snap a line and done.