Archinect
anchor

Which job should I choose the one in Portland (OR) or The one in Los Angeles?

Currently I am an intern architect, I had my degree in UCLA. Right now I need to decide which job I should choose. The firm in Los Angeles paid me less than the one in Portland. The welfare in Portland is better than the one at Los Angeles. The thing I worried about is I have no friend at Portland everything need to be started from zero if I go there. 

Jul 9, 16 2:49 pm
Dangermouse

so, you'll make more money in portland, which also has a lower cost of living than LA, a fraction of the people and a more pleasant climate.

seems obvious

Jul 9, 16 3:25 pm  · 
 · 
accesskb

LA is good for an internship and to experience the city if you've never been there.  Personally,  I wouldn't want to live there long term.  Its hot, expensive, roads are a mess, too many fakes etc

Jul 9, 16 4:11 pm  · 
 · 
citizen

Start from scratch in a new, exciting city.  That's what your 20s and 30s are for.

Jul 9, 16 4:16 pm  · 
 · 
Janosh

Nothing wrong with LA, but as Dangermouse sez,  if you are getting offered more money in a cheaper market and there are no other factors, get on the 5N and get up there.  

Jul 9, 16 5:18 pm  · 
 · 

Leah,

For a big city, Portland is actually a fairly decent city.

Meeting new people isn't too hard. Just a little thing about Oregon, don't act like your superior because you were from Los Angeles / California. That attitude can rub off wrong.

Aside from that, you should be okay.

Jul 9, 16 5:36 pm  · 
 · 
thearchitectsguide

Hi Leah, 

Often the best way to make a decision like this is to create a spreadsheet that lists the pros and cons in two columns and the firms in rows. This helps to visualize what your options are and you can even assign numbers of priority to each choice to help compare your options. 

Also, this article might be helpful for you:

25 Things To Consider When Choosing An Architecture Job Offer

Good luck!

Jul 11, 16 6:11 pm  · 
 ·