Archinect
anchor

Any chance of being an architect?

ma.s

Hi all,

I'm looking for suggestions on how to get back into architecture after a 7 year break. I have a M.Arch from an Ivy, but very little experience (maybe a year and a half total). I graduated in '08 but quickly lost my job due to the economic collapse. I've since gotten married and had three children, but find myself missing architecture and ready to get back to work. I have freelanced a little, but mostly drafting for interior designers. I did manage to pass all the ARE exams but still need the IDP hours.

Any suggestions on how to get back into it, or is it too late? It seems unlikely that I could get hired for an entry level position where I would be competing with new graduates who have fresher skills and fewer family commitments.

Thanks.

Jan 25, 16 5:04 pm
senjohnblutarsky

There is always a chance.  You may have to take whatever you can get, though.  Having passed all the exams is probably a plus.  It shows some initiative.

Just to ease getting back into work, I'd be refreshing my knowledge of production software and current building standards.  Things have changed a bit in the last 7 years. (this won't help you get a job, but once you do, may aid in keeping it.)

Jan 25, 16 5:24 pm  · 
 · 
x-jla

No!  Just kidding, Yes of course!  Don't underplay the freelance thing.  You didn't "freelance a little", you worked several interior designers on a contract basis.  Make it sound good.  

Jan 25, 16 5:33 pm  · 
 · 

The good news is this is currently the best market for architects in about a decade. I assume you haven't been working in a related field for the past seven years?

Depending on your location, I don't think you will have much difficulty finding a position. As I am sure you are aware, the issue is that it will be an entry level role with the commensurate salary. This may be a concern if your income is supporting a family of five.