Archinect
anchor

Switching from engineering to architecture

kanajiepr

Hi everyone !

I'm currently studying engineering sciences in a French graduate school of engineering, and have successfully applied for a dual master's degree program in architecture and civil/architectural engineering in another European university. It's a little bit hard to explain my French formation, as it is very specific to France, but for those who might be familiar with that, it's known here as "ingénieur généraliste". Anyway, I'll be fully taking the plunge into architecture next year.

However, all I know at the moment that could be of any use in an architecture degree would be some notions of finite elements method, heat transfer, strength of materials, some basics of structural engineering, and maybe some notions of project management. I have no idea how to conduct a design studio, a master plan, and so on. So I'd be very glad if some of you could give me some advice about how I could prepare for my master next year, and maybe have a few references (books, university courses...) that could be good introductions to courses about urbanism and architecture theory/history, or anything else that could be more on the architectural side than the engineering side.

Thanks a lot ! :)

Dec 11, 15 11:15 am
DeTwan

Why are you perusing architecture? Are you graduating with an engineering degree? Or is this more of a transferring into architecture at this other University?

If the universities in Europe are anything like they are here in the US, you basically just signed up for a fine arts degree. The universities here (and Im guessing in EU too) are riddled full of "professors" that have little to no real world experience, and they will be feeding you programs of fanatical buildings and structures that you will never encounter in a real world situation. They may even look down on you for having somewhat of an engineering background, and being to technical when it comes to design.