Archinect
anchor

Best strategy for job hunting?

Greetings.

I'm an architect living in London and for a few weeks now I've been looking for a job in an architectural practice. I would just like to know what you think about what is the best strategy to landing a job in this seemingly very demanding and exclusive industry.

So far the strategy I've employed is to look and register with employment agencies that work inside the industry and to also look directly at the practice's websites and see if they are hiring. Whenever I see an open position I write my cover letter and send it together with my CV and portfolio to the email or address they provide. In the past 3 weeks I must have sent around 70 applications already and have only heard back from a handful of them.I have relevant experience, I do the research and try to personalize my cover letters as much as possible, I have a nice portfolio (or so I think) and my CV paints me as a good candidate. So, if i'm getting so few responses that makes me wonder if I'm doing something wrong.

My main doubt is if this, let's call it, "passive" strategy of staying at home and remotely sending my application to an email address or physical address is the best course of action. And the reason I'm asking is that some people I know have told me I should be more aggressive and actually go to the practices in person to hand in my application. Personally I don't think so and here are my reasons:

1. From my experience I have the impression that architectural practices tend to be very close, in the sense that not even clients show up without emailing or calling first;

2. The managing directors, the people who have the decision power to hire you, are often out of the office in meetings or on site so the chances of catching them at the office are very slim. Obviously I can just leave my application with the office manager;