Archinect
anchor

Need advice on how to prepare

Suzar

Hello everyone,

i completed my graduation in architecture back in Indiain 2010. Then I started masters in product design but due to some personal issues was unable to complete the course. After that  I got married and came to california with my husband as he works here. I have a one year old daughter and I am a full time mom now. I want to practice architecture when my daughter is a little older. I need advice on how I can use my current time at home to prepare in order to apply for job in architectural firms. I donot have any considerable work to show as it was long back since I studied architecture. I never worked as an architect after graduation. How can I start building my portfolio. Also I am clueless about architectural practice in USA. I really need some advice on where and how to start.

Thanking you in advance.

Oct 13, 15 5:30 pm

Hi Suzar,

If you want to be a licensed architect at some point you can start by verifying your education with NCARB and enrolling in the IDP.

http://www.ncarb.org/

Since you are just getting started this article might be helpful for you.

3 Tips to Get An Architecture Job With No Experience

Good luck!

Brandon

Oct 13, 15 6:43 pm  · 
 · 
3tk

1. network - be active in local architecture/construction organizations, attend lectures, etc to meet people

2. keep up to date with local trends: construction, codes, permitting; can be done through lectures and organizational meetings, also conferences.

3. make sure you're up-to-speed on current software: Revit, AutoCAD, Adobe CC

You might stick your head into local schools to see what you'll be competing against (and remember that a lot of your competition will be willing and able to work much longer hours b/c they don't have family obligations).  Also, see what local firms are asking for on their postings.