Archinect
anchor

Salary Negotiation NYC

starling

Hello out there,

My annual employee review is coming up, and I have been thinking that it might be a good time to negotiate a higher salary. Its my first time doing so, and so I'd like to get some advice and gain some perspective (from both sides of the table) on the best ways to go about it.

Some background info:

Company is a large corporate firm with 7 offices internationally. I have 3 years experience with the firm, I started as an entry-level designer after graduate school. I have worked on multiple projects during my time and have taken on alot of responsibility lately which has required longer hours. I am averaging about 50-60 hours per week, many nights I have to take a cab home and my firm does not pay overtime. I also have student loans which I am paying off. My current salary is $60k. 

Does anyone have experience with salary negotiation? How much is appropriate? Do I bring it up in my review, or go directly to my manager? 

Any advice and discussion would be enlightening!

Sep 11, 15 3:54 pm
SneakyPete

NYC is expensive. That's a decent entry salary, tho...

Sep 11, 15 4:00 pm  · 
 · 
null pointer

My 2 cents.

If you are not licensed, working 50-60 hours a week involves a huge opportunity cost. $60k is the usual for three years in NYC. Be smart. Start cutting your hours. Start taking tests. Then ask for a raise or move elsewhere. Without a license 60k is pretty much what you'll get at 3 years.

Sep 11, 15 4:44 pm  · 
 · 
Carrera

For me, when I wasn’t paying overtime, a person’s hours were a factor. I wouldn’t cut back just yet, but be mindful of the business side of architecture, if you ask me for more money lay out before me the facts, your value. A simple paper showing these equations is a good place to start:

$60,000/year ÷ 2,010 hours per year = $29.85/hour

$60,000/year ÷ 2,860 hours per year = $20.97/hour