Archinect
anchor

A.R.E. study courses

Anob

Good afternoon, 

Preparing to start taking my exams and was wondering has any licensed architect here or know someone that has taking any study courses like Funkaar studios (approx. $3,000 for the full course) to prepare for the exams. I want to complete all my exams within a year.

I currently have all the index cards and all the main reading materials and can get the AIA contract documents. 

Jul 20, 15 1:58 pm
Zbig

How many years experience? More experience usually translates into better chances in some of the sections and lower chances in other sections. Easier on the practical aspects, harder on the theoretical and historical.

If you are experienced, you don't need any comprehensive study course. I studied from the books with the only exception of Structural where I took the Thaddeus course. It took me one year, but with dedication and enough study time, it can be done in less time. The only issue being that you will be scheduling some sections before you take others.

Head over to the arecoach forums and introduce yourself. That forum is specific to the ARE.

Jul 20, 15 2:12 pm  · 
 · 
shellarchitect

Unless you're a fresh grad I suspect those courses are prob a waste of time.

get your hands on Kaplan for everything but structural, use ballast for structures.  and spend a lot of time on the arecoach.   There are a couple really good study guides, Caroline's notes, and Jenny's notes. 

Just be aware that there is a lot of over-studying over there, some people fail a test and assume that they should have read every book ever written.

Get into it now before the test changes format

Jul 20, 15 5:05 pm  · 
 · 
Anob

Almost 4years of architectural experience. 

Jul 20, 15 5:16 pm  · 
 · 
Zbig

Anob,