Archinect
anchor

Is it possible to find a career in architcture firms without architecture degree?

SevenUp

Hello,

I'm a recent graduate from Communications, and Interactive Arts & Technology (joint major, BA) from a well-known school in Canada. I also got a 3-year study in Business Administration. I've been working as a freelance interface and graphic designer for almost half a year after the graduation.

I've been always got a passion in interior design, furniture design, and architectural design, and I think my inter-disciplinary education background in business, media studies and design put me at an advantage to pursue a career in architecture.

Therefore,  I'm wondering if it is still possible to get a foot into the door without an education background in architecture or spatial planning or urban planning? Even if I get a job position in a certain architectural firm as a drafter, or production coordinator, or designer and architectural researcher, do you think he lack of degree or education in architecture would greatly undermine my career development?

BTW, I have intermediate level design skills in adobe suites, and basic skills in 3D StudioMAX, AutoCAD & SketchUp.

I would be appreciate it if someone would give my some advices. THANKS.

Jun 15, 15 7:18 pm
rationalist

Have you ever designed a single piece of architecture? Interiors? Anything built? 
I'm not asking to be a dick, but to get you to think about the difference between design and architecture. There are other things you could design, some of which are also needed in architecture firms. Try finding one that has a branding/graphics studio in house—that way you've gotten into the industry, but are still doing work within your own wheelhouse. 

Jun 15, 15 7:40 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur