Archinect
anchor

Arch / Dev Forum- The "Blue" pill is sounding better

DJ7910

I'm looking for some insight from other Arch / Dev'rs out there.

I've been hacking at this Arch / Dev game for a few years. Unfortunately, its getting kind of old and I'm thinking a nice cushy seat drafting plans all day might be better.

I'll try to keep my history short- BS Arch Design- 16 yrs of work generally outside a traditional architecture-  as corporate store designer (franchise), office space planning, 3D marketing for Arch & Dev, University staff for TI's,  High end custom homes and some work with medium size firms - Ed, Cmcrl, Inst., and more; but mostly production job captain, DD or master planning roles.  Wasn't able to get licensed b/c work not under license architect and non-NAAB degree.

In 2006, I decided to pursue MS RE Develop & Finance degree. Graduated in early 2008 and the collapse was just beginning and no one hiring.  Like most, I found what ever work possible, but sometimes nothing for months.  

At the bottom of both the stock and RE markets I decided to take all my saving and retirement funds and invest in both stocks and a few cheap (> 50k) fixers. 2 of the fixers are rented to provide some income and sold 1, then reinvested in the 4th fixer.  Cashed out the stocks and bought a 5th and waiting for #4 to sell so I can begin fixing the 5th.  I do all the trolling to find the site, negotiating the deal, 100% of the design, and doing 90% of the labor on these.

Why do I want to take the Blue pill?  This is a lot more work than I ever expected; it takes 6-12 months to get my $ back out;  Rents are not where I want them or are the type of renters needed or is maintaining the properties desirable; seems I'm always working on crap fixers with more issues than I can comment on; I'm self financing my projects as I can't get lenders to lend on anything I'm willing to invest in; and the list goes on.  I just finished my taxes and I'm making less than an Intern III.