Archinect
anchor

Freshly licensed-- what to expect for a raise?

g.thomas.z

After recently finding out that I have completed the ARE, I am only some paperwork away from calling myself a licensed architect!  Seeing as I busted my ass to knock out all the tests over the course of the past year, I feel pretty eager to bust through my boss' door and immediately ask for that raise, but before doing that, I'd like to hear some advice from those who have already been there.

Here is my situation: I have just over 3 years of professional experience, with about 1.5 of those coming with my current firm.  For what it's worth, we are a mid-sized (50 person) commercial firm in Denver, and after having one of our best years ever, I am certain they can afford to increase my pay. I feel I'm already outperforming my 'Intern II' title as I've managed a couple small projects on my own while doing all the drawing, CA, and client management. My current salary is $52k, no overtime pay.

I'm looking for insight from anyone and everyone.  If you're already licensed, what did you receive for a pay increase?  If you're not yet licensed, what would you expect to receive?  I'd especially like to hear from those who run a firm.  Personally, I don't see my job duties drastically changing anytime soon, so is it fair to ask for a $5,000 raise?  Logic tells me no, but I feel entitled to something after completing this monumental task.  I've heard stories about people getting a 20% raise, and I've heard stories about people getting nothing, so I am at a loss for what to expect.  Please, weigh in and let me know what you think!

Jan 7, 15 10:32 am
DeTwan

If your boss fires you, you could go work for Real Architecture in Denver... they pay well.

Jan 7, 15 10:40 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur