Archinect
anchor

Career decisions - residential

pa93
Hello,

I'm currently an undergrad trying to decide where Im headed with architecture. I know what I want, which is to eventually become a registered architect and work on residential projects for clients. I know residential work is always about supply and demand, but I'm sure that's what I want to do. In pursuing this, I am wondering what are the next steps I need to be taking; ie IDP program, internships etc. What graduate program should I aim for? Is it better to aim for small residential firms? What's the certification process like? I dont want to miss anything that might delay my process...thanks to all

Dec 7, 14 1:13 am

Your career choice is to work for cheap, neurotic rich people? 

Start with psychology classes.

Dec 7, 14 9:41 am  · 
 · 
null pointer

Not enough info to advice you.

Anyways, I'm a residential architect - the type that does work for developers in NYC. The smallest project I've worked on (for more than 12 hours) in the past four years has probably been around 100,000 GSF.