Archinect
anchor

how to make myself stand out among the competition

Mthomas1993

All,

I have roughly a year left to complete my 5 year B.Arch. As i'm approaching this exciting yet nerve wrecking moment of graduation, i'm trying to assemble my portfolio in a way that will make me marketable. i'd say i'm a pretty well-rounded pre-professional; I've had 2 internships so far, am proficient in many computer programs, and i attend a school where energy efficient design is heavily emphasized. i'm also a writer and musician, and i'd like to think i have a good personality (which, i learned this summer, means a LOT to potential employers)

I've been told the employment outlook for architects is supposed to skyrocket in the next few years, due to the constant tightening of energy standards, and the need for young 'tech savy' architects that are proficient in GIS, BIM, revit, etc..

what i'm asking for is some professional advice on, like i said, how to stand out among the rest. will my computer modeling skills secure me a position? are technologies like GIS in high demand? will a masters degree in arch. or sustainability get me anywhere? i would like to start planning, while i'm still in school, how to shape myself and what directions to take as I step into the professional world.

here is a link to my current online portfolio (needs roughly half a year worth of updates)

behance.net/archmatthewthomas

thanks in advance!

Nov 26, 14 2:49 pm
natematt

Brutal honesty time.

Will my computer modeling skills secure me a position?
From what I can tell, no. Your skill level seems on par with most recent grads, which is to say it won't make you stand out.

I attend a school where energy efficient design is heavily emphasized
I’m not really seeing much in the way of sustainable design focus in your projects. It is a big thing for a lot of firms, so if you really have that skill you should probably make more of a point in showing that aspect of your design ability.