Archinect
anchor

IDP availability of working in the overseas office of US corporate architectural firm

sims1216

Hi there,

I'm a junior designer in the overseas branch office of one of the biggest US firm, and i'm planning to go through the NCARB licensure in the future.(with m.arch degree) So i'm curious if i could get IDP credit working here.

But the problem is that we don't have US licensed architect here since we mostly work on the space planning, and collaborate with the office in US for big architectural projects.(We only have US licensed interior designers and usually hire local architects for record.) I've already read NCARB's IDP guideline about work setting issue, but it's pretty unclear whether i'm under the direct supervision.

Is there anyone who can advise me?

Thanks for reading.

Sep 14, 14 10:35 pm
sims1216

FYI, of course we do have US licensed architects in the office in US.(such as regional managing architect..)

Sep 14, 14 11:24 pm  · 
 · 

You'll be earning IDP under "Experience Setting O"

• Direct supervision by an architect not registered in the United States/Canada engaged in the practice of architecture outside of the United States or Canada.

When the firm hires an architect of record, it most likely will not constitute "direct supervision" (which NCARB defines on page 11 of the IDP Guidelines document), although the level of involvement will vary by project and by firm, so it is possible.  When working on some of these larger projects, where a US licensed architect is taking a leadership position over you, those hours have the potential to count towards Experience Setting A, depending again on the level of supervision.