Archinect
anchor

Technically Self Employed: Wondering if it's worth it

cyberpunk10

I've been working at the same firm in LA for the past 8 years doing a little bit of everything. I work out of the office but technically I am self employed. I have a B of Arch and have 12 years of experience overall. I pay my own health insurance and get no vacation or sick time off. If I don't work I don't get paid. I am also hourly, so I get no fixed salary or overtime. My hours are pretty flexible. I pay my own taxes including self employment tax.

I earn $35 an hour and have a long commute in horrible LA traffic and because I am self employed pay self employment tax. Today my tax bill after all my deductions came to a whopping $9,500 on income of about $65000. Living in LA with a kid, another kid on the way, a mortgage it feels like I'm living paycheck to paycheck and now i have to pay $9.5k to the government.

With all this being said, I have a growing suspicion that this arrangement is starting to not be worth it. Between the long commute, the lack of prospects of moving up, the self employment tax, expensive health insurance out of my pocket, I need to be earning more in order to feel justified with all the headaches.

Should I be thankful I have a job and suck it up? Should I ask for a raise? Should I move on? I feel like I am at a crossroads and something needs to change.

Apr 6, 11 5:14 pm
Rusty!

Nature of your employment sounds illegal as far as your employer is concerned.
Technically, you should not be considered as self-employed.

Also $9.5k on $65k isn't exactly horrible. You should put money away for taxes as you go along.

Start looking for a new job. It's best to do it when you're employed.

Apr 6, 11 5:38 pm  · 
 · 

In my recollection, which could be wrong although it's idiotic for me not to know for sure, the commute costs are deductible as long as you are self-employed. If you're an employee, they're not. Check with your accountant.

But like rusty said: