Archinect
anchor

Engineering AND Architecture

eng.arch

I am about to enter my third year as a civil engineering major and architecture minor. I have a lot of experience in Grasshopper and Rhino and I am very knowledgeable in architecture for an engineering student. Is there any way that I can use these arch skills to my advantage when applying to engineering internships for the upcoming year?  I have these skills listed on my resume but I doubt anyone has ever known what they were/found them applicable.

Additionally, my goal is to work in a design firm with engineers, architects, and planners where I would ideally be surrounded by and engage with all three professional types. Is my minor at all valuable for this, or am I completely wasting my time learning architecture for any professional gains. 

Jul 16, 14 8:07 pm
Volunteer

I think you are on an excellent career track, especially if you concentrate on the structural engineering aspects of civil engineering. You will also be be able to work with landscape architects as well as interior architects with your civil engineering skills.

Jul 16, 14 9:14 pm  · 
 · 
3tk

Depends on which area of civil and at what caliber - most run-of-the-mill engineering firms have your typical engineering mindset and could care less about software that they couldn't directly translate to billings (STAAD, Autodesk Infrastructure Suite etc).  Most firms that would appreciate understanding in both require a Master's (Arup, Buro Happold, most structural firms).  The problem with A&E firms is that they either tend to be huge and you'll be pigeon holed in either department for a while or that they tend to do uninspiring work.  I have had structural consultants build models in Rhino, but it's not terribly useful for engineering outside of visualization.