Marcy Monroe

Marcy Monroe

Oakland, CA, US



Architect (in the making) + Urban Designer/Planner. UF + UC Berkeley M.Arch-M.CP grad. Soo Tribe member.



HNTB Corp., Oakland, CA, US, Planner-Architectural Designer

Jun 2017 - current

AECOM, San Francisco, CA, US, Urban Planner

Apr 2015 - May 2017

University of California, Berkeley, Berkeley, CA, US, Graduate Student Instructor + Researcher

Jun 2011 - Dec 2014

University of California, Berkeley, Berkeley, CA, US, John K. Branner Fellow

Dec 2011 - Dec 2012


University of California, Berkeley, Dual Masters of Architecture and City and Regional Planning

Aug 2010 - current

University of Florida, Gainesville, FL, US, Bachelors, Bachelors of Design in Architecture, Minor in International Development and Humanitarian Assistance

Aug 2006 - May 2010

School of the Art Institute of Chicago, Chicago, IL, US, ECP-Studio Art/Interior Architecture

May 2005 - Jul 2005


2017 Jason Pettigrew Scholarship Recipient, Award

The Jason Pettigrew Memorial ARE Scholarship recognizes the significant contributions of emerging professionals at early stages in their careers and helps defray the costs associated with the Architect Registration Examination (ARE). Developed by AIA’s National Associates Committee, the scholarship honors the memory of Jason Pettigrew. Scholarship recipients receive funds to cover the cost of the ARE and study materials.


Richard Bender Fellow, Grant

Awarded to outstanding student researchers in the M.Arch / M.CP concurrent degree program at UC Berkeley.


First Prize at Storefront for Art & Architecture's "Competitions of Competitions: Redefining Briefs, Clients and Agents", 1st Place

Alongside Lee Dykxhoorn, AIA, our entry entitled "Deploy Yourself, Not Your Designs" was selected as first place in Storefront's international call for entries.


2011-2012 John K. Branner Travel Fellow, Award

Awarded $35,000 in support of independent research fieldwork on an architect’s role in post-disaster recovery in longer-term displaced settlements.


Malcolm Reynolds Prize, Award

$20,000 in recognition of design work.


Areas of Specialization