Archinect
anchor

Yale MED

ija meinzer

Hello,

I have been looking for information about Yale's MED program; however, contrary to those about MArch programs, discussion threads about history/theory programs do not seem to be popular.

I hold an architecture degree but I am more interested in architectural criticism rather than practice. Indeed, I have been looking into a couple of programs that might be good preparation for a career in writing/curating. The MED seems to have a solid curriculum so any insight pertaining to course load, approachability of faculty, teaching assistantships and financial aid or any other academic insight from graduates would be appreciated.

Also, I am aware that GSAPP has recently started a relevant program but since it's only in its second year and no graduates have come out of it yet I was wondering whether it would a wise choice to consider that as an option (though NYC is certainly a somewhat more desirable destination than New Haven, CT).

Looking forward to any responses and thanks in advance.

Jul 7, 10 2:37 pm
StationeryMad

Would you be able to share a little more on your future aspirations for this MED degree (i.e., editor, author, curator, etc...).

You may be interested to know--assuming that you do not--that many penetrating architectural criticism has been performed from outside the discipline. Hence, you are likely to find also useful insights from programs in fields like geography, anthropology, urban economics and studies, planning etc., that in any case, are also likely to offer you some relief from Deleuze and Derrida rampant and fashionable in architectural criticism for a long while.

All said, being in the discipline offers you something extra that these outside disciplines do not: a solid networking experience and foot through the door if you want to work within architecture. On the other hand, to enter from the outside would require a measure of brilliance and lots of good luck.

Jul 8, 10 4:25 am  · 
 ·