Archinect
anchor

do you envy other types of designers?

shaner

fashion, graphics, etc... even fine arts, musicians...

do you ever feel if you were for say, a fashion designer, you might have more opportunities to express yourself through your design?

Jul 4, 10 7:44 pm

If I was a hair stylist, I'd see the results of my design work in 45 minutes.

Otherwise, no, I don't envy other designers.

Jul 4, 10 10:46 pm  · 
 · 
Distant Unicorn

Unless you can do 'fancy' web graphics or 'electronic' graphics or you have absolutely no porblem doing bus/car wrappers or designing crappy t-shirts...

Then the world of graphic design is pretty much dying quicker than architecture.

Jul 4, 10 10:49 pm  · 
 · 
binary

diversity and do it all.....touche'

Jul 4, 10 10:51 pm  · 
 · 
Larchinect

I envy musicians, generally and sometimes architects, because I am a landscape architect (designer) and often wish I could design buildings or at least be more involved in that type of design...while playing the guitar like jimi.

Jul 4, 10 11:17 pm  · 
 · 
Paradox

I envy musicians.I tried to play guitar but I gave up because it was so stressful to play the correct notes.I don't think I have the talent for music so yeah...

Jul 5, 10 12:40 am  · 
 · 
JsBach

I am at heart a musician, architecture pays the bills. As far as envy is concerned, creativity as a profession is always going to be a hard life. Only the gifted chosen few will recieve recognition for their efforts.

The good news is, you can always be creative. You don't have to rely on the accolades and patronage of others to follow your muse. If you have an artistic bent, then do what you can to allow yourself the freedom to follow that path. You can be self fulfilled as an artist even if your art isn't fashionable or marketable.

Jul 5, 10 1:17 am  · 
 · 
archiwhat

Sometimes I envy graphic designers as the working process is less complicated - less people could be involved and so on.

Jul 5, 10 2:17 am  · 
 · 
trace™