Archinect
anchor

Clemson Grad Student Housing

danwkim

incoming clemson graduate student looking for housing choices...can anyone offer advice as to where is a solid place to live?
looking for something relatively close to campus since i will be in studio mostly anyways, roommates/no roommates indifferent, clean, affordable place.

Jun 11, 10 12:09 pm
al89tom

I am currently a undergraduate student here at Clemson.

There are plenty of apartment complexes all within 1-3 miles of clemson's campus. The one I currently live in (and like) is Crawford. That being said, its on the pricey side in clemson. In addition, it is a college apartment complex, so depending on who your neighbors are, it might be a little noisy.

Some nicer complex places that are a affordable:
Tillman place- next to monterreys
Daniel square- behind clemson house
uv and the reserve- some people like these, they are a little far in my opinion

If you search around downtown and behind main street, you can find older houses that might be up for rent. Although it might be hard to find now, this might be your best bet for privacy. Also, if you can secure one, the rent is usually not bad at all.

If anything, contact the architecture office at clemson and see if they have any recommendations or current graduate students you can talk to.

Hope this helps!

Jun 11, 10 1:21 pm  · 
 · 
heavymetalarchitecture

Graduated grad program last May. I recommend Daniel Square, its probably the only place you can get where you can walk to studio. I got a place that was 1 mile away across the train tracks through Foothill Property Management. I would call them and ask what they have they own alot of apartments. You will most likely have to drive everyday or ride a bike.

So don't you have to go to Charleston your first semester? Make sure you find out which semester you will go to Charleston and which one you can go to Italy so you don't sign a year lease and end up somewhere else for half the lease.

Good Luck