Archinect
anchor

advice for recent graduates?

JMS127

I have recently graduated with a B. Arch degree and can't seem to find any firms that are hiring recent graduates. Any firms that are currently hiring are looking for at least 2+ years experience. While I have four years of internship experience and would probably fit the job criteria, I can't seem to get my foot in the door. Does anyone have any advice for me?

Jun 8, 10 5:15 pm
achensch

try not to get too bummed

Jun 8, 10 5:21 pm  · 
 · 
Milwaukee08

You shoulda spent your time in school networking and schmoozing important people in your city, instead of, you know, studying and getting good grades.

Like they say, it's not what you know, it's who you know.

All I can say is contact some of your professors that liked you and see if they have any suggestions.

Jun 8, 10 5:54 pm  · 
 · 
iheartbooks

these guys have alot of good advice. you may have to wade through the stuff that doesn't apply to your specific situation, but they are a wealth of career development knowledge.

http://www.manager-tools.com/

Jun 8, 10 9:56 pm  · 
 · 
med.

I'll say it again. Networking and even Schmoozing in this profession is never a bad thing.

A lot of kids in school never really understand that and some are way too full of themselves thinking they shit strawberry sherbert. At least that was from my experience.

Being nice and having a "likability factor" really pays off in huge dividents too.

I've worked with some REAL assholes before and when they met the axe, they would try desperately to network and but it would be too little too late for them.

Jun 9, 10 10:46 am  · 
 · 
no need for name

PORTFOLIO
is what you should be refining, re-do diagrams, renders etc.,...whatever you think needs improvement but, your portfolio should show your evolution as a student so you should not re do first year projects etc.,...