Archinect
anchor

Address on the resume!

I have edited my resume for the hundredth time and then again another thought creeps in. I live in Dallas area and see most of the openings in either California or NY. Obviously, my resume would be ruled out considering that Im not a localite. Any suggestions? My recruiter mentioned its better not to include any mailing address on the resume.Please suggest!
PS: I will fly to China if I need to!

May 19, 10 8:19 pm

The So Cal job market is super tight right now. Probably 300-500+ applicants per opening. So it won't really make any difference what you put on your resume. The best way to find a job here is through a referral.

May 19, 10 8:23 pm  · 
 · 
rikar

Well this 'referral' thing is another boo element...Half the people I know are looking for jobs themselves..the other half wont risk their jobs..Do you know of any job openings? I am an Architectural designer/junior/intermediate/intern architect..;P

May 19, 10 8:31 pm  · 
 · 
Paradox

You can search the firms then contact the people who work for those firms in the region you want to work through Linkedin,zoominfo etc. That's a way of networking too.They don't have to be hiring managers necessarily.Actually it is better you don't contact the hiring managers directly,they are busy people.I live on Long Island (an hour from NYC) yet no employers in the NYC area replied to my emails.I'm thinking of moving to NYC then look for jobs over there.

All my friends stopped responding to me when I asked them about their current workflow in their workplace to learn about the condition of local market. I didn't even ask if they knew anybody who was hiring!! So friends and family are not useful.Everybody is worried about their jobs so they won't help you.You are on your own.

I don't know about the situation in Texas but I'm sure there are places hiring.You just have to dig deeper to find them.

May 19, 10 8:54 pm  · 
 · 
rikar