Archinect
anchor

Switching professions and then returning to Architecture?

Here's my story...

I'll will be finishing my M.Arch this May.  I will have about $55,000 worth of student loans.  I have zero experience.

An opportunity has come for me to take a position in a completely different field, dealing with  criminal investigations, starting at more than $60,000.  

I find both paths to be interesting.  The investigation job would give me a completely new look on life (I have lived and breathed architecture for the past 5 years), but in the long run I see myself as an architect.  

Has anyone taken a sidetrack/break from their architecture career to try something else out?  If so, why?  How many years? What did you do?  Did you (or plan on it) go back into architecture?

Jun 13, 11 9:26 pm
backbay

i wouldn't pass that up.  if you're still in your early 20's, live with your parents for a year, save everything, and then you can go off and do WHATEVER THE HELL YOU WANT for the rest of your DEBT FREE life.  That one year of your life that you sacrifice architecture and freedom will set you up for a life where you won't be forced to sacrifice more important things  indefinitely.

Good luck man.

Jun 13, 11 10:59 pm  · 
 · 
Wilma Buttfit

Go for it! You will learn a lot, more than you can as an entry level architect. Yes, you can always return to architeture, it will always be there. Best of luck!

Jun 14, 11 8:41 am  · 
 · 
masses

Thanks for the encouraging advice.  I'm not quite in my early 20's... i'll be 28 by the time I graduate, been married for 4 years, and possibly a kid on the way soon.  

My biggest concern is that if I stick with this job for 3-5 years, then try to get back into architecture I'll be a 33 year old who finished school 5 years prior with 0 (architecture) experience and potentially 5 years behind in whatever new software/technology comes out, not to mention a rather large pay cut.  

Fortunately I have time to mull this over.