Archinect
anchor

So, will this pan out ? - or what's next to do...

pale shelter

Good evening - I'm an intern architect approaching a year out of work. After hundreds of resumes, few interviews - some possibilities still in the air, etc. etc. and the random job resumes... I've put my latest energy into starting my own residential design llc, with another colleague who recently lost his job. We have our website; we're creating marketing material...it all looks professional and high quality...and now we are starting to network as much as we can...

Any thoughts on the viability of this in this current economic state?

Has anyone had success? or are starting a similar path? Where do we find work?!

I would enjoy any conversations regarding young designers (not yet registered) who are embarking on their own design businesses...

Thank-

Apr 30, 10 12:30 am
m22b

my question for you is.... should I go to grad school in arch or look for design opportunities outside of arch and spend the next two years getting a mba or something in the hopes of working in product design and dev't...

I am scared I will graduate in two years, struggle to find steady employment after that, and so I will end up being licensed 5 or 6 years out of grad school...

Apr 30, 10 1:08 am  · 
 · 
pale shelter

My city's newspaper had a recent article titled something like "First to suffer, last to recover"...regarding architects, orcourse... in our state... with not so comforting statistics. I'm on a continual rollercoaster of optimism...pessimism...

I am comforted, however, by the fact the 40% of my class has gotten laid off at some point in the last year (I can't take this out on me, in other words). I get upset, though, knowing that the majority of my friends/classmates DO have jobs...

I wouldn't worry about 2 years from now...btw.