Archinect
anchor

financial aid crisis

ijcheon

I have been recentyl accepted by UPENN- PennDesign for M.arch (post-professional). Being an international student, I am REALLY desperate to get aids or grants.

Just to tuition fee itself being 40k, my family cannot support me at all. Just one down-payment of 40k will just crush my family.

I have already heard that it is really difficult for international students to get financial aid or grants, but loans. I cannot even get a job at the school. Finding a cosigner for a loan is yet another pain.

Darn it. So lost. Panicking. It does not make any sense to just give up Ivy's offer because I do not have sufficient money.

I was reading a newspaper this morning and it said universities in the states and australia are now more keen to accept international students to overcome this financial cirsis. So depressing after jumping around for being accepted. Just complaining really... no offence...

Any advices? would a loan be the only possible way for international students? Anyone who has experienced the same problem? any better ideas or solutions? Please help me.

Apr 7, 10 6:45 am
dmc

hey congrats!! and don't panick, there are many others in your situation. i was accepted at Penn a few years ago and was in that same boat - international student, the financial aid was a mere $4,800, and the cost way above my means. what's different in your case is that your program is much shorter (1 year, right?). i had applied for the 3 year M. Arch. program, so the figures i was looking at were way too high.