Archinect
anchor

Laptop tips for better health

great lake

Hey everyone, I just got back from a trip to the chiropractor because I was having some extreme neck and lower back pain, so I thought I would share some of his advice with you.

I have been using a laptop now as my primary computer for 5 years, and for me personally this was a really bad mistake healthwise. I got used to using a laptop since I started grad school, because I thought it would be easier to carry around with me to classes and back home at night. If I could change things I would probably have just got a desk top computer and used that throughout school, because you honestly don't have to do too much moving around in studio. If you can afford it maybe get a cheaper laptop for computer courses that take place outside of studio and keep a good desktop computer at your studio desk or home, where ever you work most often.

From using my laptop extensively over the last five years I have done some serious damage to my neck and have even started developing a bit of arthritis in it even though I'm only 28! Yikes! My neck is bent forward and I have pinched nerves in my lower back.

This is mainly because when you're using a laptop the keyboard and the screen are much too close together. So you end up hunching your shoulders, and sticking out your neck, pushing it forward, and putting a lot of pressure on your spine and lower back.

If you are using a laptop as your primary computer you should really use it with a separate keyboard and mouse (which I know defeats the purpose of a laptop) and prop the laptop up so the screen is at eye level and you do not have to strain your neck or shoulders into a downwards or hunching position. And keep your feet positioned firmly on the ground.