Archinect
anchor

Portfolio Feedback

Anthropologist

Hi,

Would like some feedback on my portfolio. I applied to a few Master's programs this year and this experience was one in itself!

...taught myself indesign and used most of my projects from Career Discovery.

This is a new pursuit for me, I am coming from NO design background, NO Architecture Background. My degree is in anthropology, and I have a background mainly in marketing.

Since career discovery, I have interned at a landscape architecture firm, and now work in urban planning doing research. 

I have gotten several rejections from schools and so am looking at what my application is going to look like. 

Feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for your time. Here is the link:

http://issuu.com/kaedoherty/docs/doherty_kaeleigh_march_2014portfoli

Mar 16, 14 6:51 pm
natematt

What schools did you apply to, and how did you feel about your application letter?

Mar 16, 14 7:01 pm  · 
 · 
Anthropologist

I felt my application letter was strong and focused on how my past applies to architecture, and what I have been doing to build on my skills and knowledge in the field.

I applied to GSD, University of Calgary, UBC, UofT...

Mar 16, 14 7:18 pm  · 
 · 
SpatialSojourner

Nice job.  Here's some things that I feel could be improved:

1. I really like the boxes melding together but the hand drawings a kind of weak quality-wise. Lines don't meet up, line weights, ect. A Mayline or t-square would be very helpful in making the lines maintain the orthogonal.  If you're going to do hand drawings, investment in the materials will improve your craft immensely.  Items to to look into: lead holder, lead ( a selection of Hs, Bs), T-square, drafting dots, drafting cleaning bags (magic in a bag).  Also experiment with getting a set of Micron pens of different sizes and ink over lightly drawn drawings. That being said, I like the first image as it has a quality to it.