Archinect
anchor

Disillusioned Bartlett Student needs advise on other schools/options. Help!

Monito

Hi all.

I'm currently studying for BSc in Architecture at the Bartlett, UCL. I'm approximately half way through, but have found it an extremely trying time.

The school has many admirable aspects to it, but is also riddled with a host of problems.

I have been marginalised, patronised, over-pressured, over-worked and seen any life outside of school disappear - girl friends vanished because of neglect. My ability to talk to "outsiders" diminished because of tiredness and sense of guilt that I should working instead of talking to them. My (outside) friends told me I lost weight and resembled a ghost.

However, there is still something pulling be back and keeping me going. I think buildings are the only thing I've ever been truly interested in. Perhaps a different environment/approach is needed?

I recognise the school's prestige is immense (as is UCL's in itself) and some excellent work is produced by its (admirably resilient) students, but I have been throughly put off subjecting myself to life changing/destroying experience that it is.

I also realise that RIBA medal winners (for what they're worth) have been drawn from a wide ranging selection of schools, and that the Bartlett and AA don't monopolize.

I need advise. I want to know what my options are. Are there more balanced schools out there? Ones which will afford a quality education but perhaps with less emphasis on flashiness and more on substance i.e. more technical, more recognition of and co-operation with other construction industry professions.

A more balanced world view please, giving me more "me time"

I understand the question of balance is largely down to oneself, but a department which sees perhaps less than 50% of 1st year intake graduate (who had themselves been hand picked from thousands of hopefuls), and only 25% of those graduates return for postgrad can't be a healthy environment.