Archinect
anchor

Portfolio Critique, Please

jaficara

Hey all, 

I was hoping to get a critique of my current portfolio layout.  

I am a graduate of University of Michigan's BS Arch program, and am currently working with an architect on Long Island, NY in a full time capacity.  

I hope to go back to school and complete a MArch program in a year or two, and thus would appreciate any and all criticism/comments one might have in regards to my work/layout/palate choices/descriptions etc.. 

Also, I noticed a lot of graduate schools require electronic portfolio submissions with caps on the files size. As of now, my current pdf layout is out of control, so if anyone has any tips on how to flatten/reduce the size of a PDF as much as humanly/electronically possible, I could use anything you've got... 

Thanks in advance, 

John

http://issuu.com/jaficara/docs/ficara_portfolio

Jan 21, 14 9:38 pm
spqr

_one good, big rendering is always better than four small, similar renderings. 

_for file size: put text on a layer and images on a layer. turn off text layer. export pages as jpegs. make new layer for jpegs. place jpegs on respective pages. turn on text and turn off images. export as pdf.

Jan 22, 14 9:31 am  · 
 · 
Veuxx
Google Photoshop Save for Web.

Compile your high res jpgs into a PDF

I keep a web version high quality raster portfolio which is usually about 4mb and a full vector portfolio that is going to be a few hundred mb.

I always let them know a larger vector portfolio is available and I always print from the vector version. If it is going to solely be viewed electronically Photoshop save for web is fantastic.
Jan 22, 14 11:52 am  · 
 · 
Roshi