Archinect
anchor

crestfallen undergrad seeks advice

frequent

I will give you the dry, short version:

I would like to pursue a career in architecture. So, that means I will be seeking a MArch degree in a few years. While I am currently pursuing an undergrad degree in an unrelated field, what can I do currently to prepare and make myself more competitive? What do graduate schools look for in applicants such as myself, with no background in architecture or a related field?

I feel a little hopeless and lost, and I don't know where to start.

Background:

I am currently a sophomore at a university with no art programs. 

Thank you

Jan 16, 14 2:12 am
snail

Take an art class somewhere else, or see if there is at least some kind of club or activity involving drawing, and/or start sketching from life on your own. You could also look at art and/or architecture summer programs. If you can do 20+ pages of reasonably decent art, that should be enough.

Jan 16, 14 2:55 am  · 
 · 

I'm not sure why you're "crestfallen" because if you play the game right you should be in fine shape.

What do schools look for in applicants with no background?

1- As a baseline, probably some competence in your current major.  You don't need to be exceptional, but if you are failling to maintain at least an average GPA then that won't help. 

2- You'll need to express some degree of artistic proficiency via your portfolio.  Probably you'll need to take some kind of approved drawing class as a minimum requirement.  But having said that, there's no reason you can't start practicing drawing right now.  All you really need is a piece of paper, pencil and a will to do it.