Archinect
anchor

Switching careers from a CG artist to an architect advice

loulouish

Hi, 

I have a diploma in digital animation where I learnt a foundation in art, 3D modelling and 3D animation using programs such as 3D Maya and Adobe Photoshop. I'm currently working as a CG(computer graphics) artist and I'm thinking of making a move into the architecture field in Australia to study and work. So I was wondering if :-

1. my digital art background and skills would be of any use in this field? I heard there's such a thing as digital architecture?

2. so as to not waste time, would it be better to finish off my bachelors in art (1~2years) and apply to the M.Arch program at Melbourne School of Design (I heard they offer a 3-year course there for students with a non-arch degree? Is it difficult to get into?) or does anyone know any other institute that provides such a course in Australia?

Or would it be better to start from the bachelors in architecture where I'll get a solid foundation? 

3. are work prospects worse for a person who never did the B.Arch and only just the M.Arch? Or is it like art where it's the portfolio produced at the end that counts?

4. does anyone know what the job market is like in Australia? I have family there and I'm hoping to find work where I can be close to them.

Thanks for taking the time to read through this and any light, good or bad shed on this matter would be greatly appreciated. 

Dec 29, 13 11:05 am
placebeyondthesplines

1. Absolutely. Visualization skills give you a huge advantage in architecture school. It's easy to fall into the trap of letting handsome images mask underdeveloped projects, though, so you should be careful not to lean on those skills too hard. But most students are learning visualization as they go, so you'll be able to spend that much more time refining your design work.