Archinect
anchor

What should a portfolio for MArch look like

joben

I am trying to figure out if I have what it takes to even get into and MArch program. I have my undergraduate degree in environmental planning with no real design/artistic background... I just graduated and was planning on taking the year off to take a bunch of design/CAD/art classes to build up a portfolio for 2010 admissions... I was wondering what a typical portfolio looks like for someone applying to an MArch program (the program from applicants without an architectural background)? are there any books or websites I can look at to see if i would be able to match up to other peoples who have applied to MArch programs?

May 27, 09 12:13 pm
ocotillo

i'll jump in here to preempt some prick telling you to go screw yourself and do your own research, because that will probably happen. but seriously, dig around the "commiserate" threads and elsewhere here on archinect--there are tons of people posting portfolios. In the meantime, take an arch prep course, or arch drawing, theory, and/or any visual art or design courses. no arch background means absolutely nothing. visual representation aptitude, and life experience, however, mean a whole lot. consider the MArch, but also consider just going out into the world and poking around for a while. it will show on your applications if you've thoughtfully considered the universe and why architecture for whatever reason gives you a purpose in it... and it will also show if you haven't. i'm non-arch, about to start MArch, and fit the average accepted applicant demographic of late-20s, out of school for several years. there's a reason why that's the average, so think about it. but obviously there is a bottom end to that average, too, so who knows? good luck.

May 27, 09 3:50 pm  · 
 · 
Cranky Pantz

"i'll jump in here to preempt some prick telling you to go screw yourself and do your own research, because that will probably happen."