Archinect
anchor

McGill/ Waterloo Portfolio for Architecture

shh_Im_arting

Ok, I'm new to this so please bare with me :)

I'm in grade 12 just finishing off with school and applying to unis in Canada and the US. I'm doing my A-Levels (British curriculum) and live overseas but I'm American and hold a Canadian citizenship and my mom and brother live in Canada.

I've applied for business/management at Dalhousie and York and got in both but they were just backups and anyway I want to do Architecture (my second option was business and that was just as a backup)

I'm applying for Architecture and my top universities to study at are McGill, UFT and Waterloo however I just wanted to know a bit more about the Architecture portfolio standards for McGill and Waterloo and how they differ.

I'm completing my A-levels in Math, Further Math, Economics, Physics and Art and I am targeted grade A* in Math, Physics, Art and Econ and grade A in Further Math so grade-wise, I think I'm okay.

I just have no idea of what the standard is for these portfolios and what McGill and Waterloo class as a "strong" portfolio. Since I take art, I have loads of work (fine art, technical drawings, wood work, clay, metal sculpture, CAD, print making etc..) But I heard there are only about 26 places for Architecture at McGill which just makes me feel like there is no hope :(

I mean realistically speaking, I would expect all the people applying to McGill to have high grades- so how do they end up choosing students? Is there a lot of emphasis on the portfolio and does it really make or break your application. Frankly, I would rather there be a big emphasis on portfolio because choosing students grades-wise just seems impossible when nearly everyone has perfect scores and only 26 places are available !

So how important is the portfolio at both Waterloo and McGill?

Also do you need to send in any original work at all or is it just photos of your work with dimensions/medium mentioned?