Archinect
anchor

Architecture Portfolio

djduhpression

Hello.  I am a sophomore in high school who is really just planning ahead.  I have looked at architecture schools and I feel I have the academic credentials to get accepted into Rice and apply through ED.  I'm also looking at Notre Dame and University of Illinois.   Anyway, Rice requires a portfolio when you apply, and I need to know what to include in it.  I am in my first year of drafting, which are mainly sketches/board drawings.  Next year I am taking CAD Drafting with Revit, Inventor, Autocad, etc.  My senior year I am taking an advanced type drafting class which will mainly focus on board drawings.  I have looked at portfolios and they are all different, so I don't really know what I should include in mine.  I maybe only have one drawing so far that is even considerable for my portfolio.

Nov 20, 13 5:21 pm
natematt

You taking any art classes?

Why Notre Dame? Maybe someone will correct me, but i don't think they have much of a reputation for architecture. In fact I don't think I've ever heard the name even brought up in an architectural context.

Nov 20, 13 5:50 pm  · 
 · 
snail

Typically what architecture schools want to see is evidence of creativity and artistic engagement rather than drafting, so it's better to include work showing that you can draw by hand - things like freehand drawings from life.

Nov 20, 13 9:34 pm  · 
 · 
djduhpression

Is it bad if I only submit drafting drawings? I am not in any art classes right now.  And personally I really don't know why I have Notre dame on my list, but they were on a list for the top architecture schools list for 2013.

Nov 22, 13 6:18 pm  · 
 · 
djduhpression

I've heard of people submitting photographs, which I don't understand. But if I submitted some good photography pictures ALONG with drafting drawings, would I be okay? 

Nov 22, 13 6:21 pm  · 
 · 
natematt